Hello all!

For the past two years, in accordance with a resolution passed at the 2012 NOW Conference, the NOW Structure Modernization Working group has developed ideas for modernizing NOW’s structure through extensive engagement with leaders at all levels of our organization.

At the 2014 Conference, we voted to set aside our usual conference agenda for the 2015 Conference, and focus on using this time to convene a strategy summit for NOW.  Subsequently, the NOW Board voted to combine the strategy summit with a bylaws convention. As a result, in 2015 NOW’s membership  will debate and vote on recommendations for changes in NOW’s policies and/or bylaws to modernize our organization’s structure.

In the months leading up to the 2015 Conference, the National Action Center will host a series of six webinars to lay the groundwork for this strategy summit / bylaws convention.  The first webinar will provide an introduction and overview.  Each of the following five webinars will cover a specific topic of focus and has a corresponding online discussion board to further facilitate debate and discussion. Each topic also has an assigned Board committee consisting of five members, one of whom is the chair, who will assist in facilitating conversations around each of these topics via phone and in-person at state and chapter meetings. For contact information for each of the committee chairs, scroll to the bottom of this page.

Please sign up to attend these webinars by using the links below, and share them widely with the activists who are a part of your state organizations and chapters. It is imperative that we engage as many of our activists as possible throughout this process so we can hear your ideas about these topics and find solutions for making NOW a more effective, efficient and impactful organization.

We look forward to seeing you at each webinar!

Thank you,

Terry, Chitra, & Bonnie



Webinar Calendar

Webinar Title Date and Time of Webinar Discussion Board Opens Discussion Board Closes
Introductory Webinar 12/10/2014 at 8pm ET 12/12/2014 6/10/2015
Size of the Board, Number of Officers 1/14/2015 at 8pm ET 1/16/2015 6/10/2015
Sub-units and their Relationship to One Another 2/4/2015 at 8pm ET 2/6/2015 6/10/2015
Money & Members 2/25/2015 at 8pm ET 2/27/2015 6/10/2015
Conferences & Committees 3/18/2015 at 8pm ET 3/20/2015 6/10/2015
Statement of NOW’s Purpose 4/1/2015 at 8pm ET 4/3/2015 6/10/2015

Board Committees

Name of Committee: Committee Members: Committee Chair: Contact Information:
Size of Board, Number of Officers Gilda Yazzie, Aida Zuniga, April Emmert-Maguire, Charlotte Klasson, Kim Villanueva Gilda Yazzie gildaNOW2015@gmail.com
Subunits Susan Mottet, Carla Josephson, Sinoun Hem, Shirley Ranz, Robin Dionne Susan Mottet susanNOW2015@gmail.com
Money & Members Meredith Ockman, Nancy Campbell Mead, Mary Pollock, Jerilyn Stapleton, Sonia Ossorio Meredith Ockman meredithNOW2015@gmail.com
Conferences & Committees Michele Hamilton, Panayiota Bertzikis, Sue Gibson, Joanne Tosti-Vasey, Marian Bradley Michele Hamilton micheleNOW2015@gmail.com
Statement of Purpose Amber Kirchhoff, Kae Chatman, Elena Carrillo, Gordy Gustafson, Laurie Roberts Amber Kirchhoff amberNOW2015@gmail.com